headphone girl

A universal conscience, the digital world, and what they all have in common.

Last night I had a dream about you
In this dream I’m dancing right beside you
And it looked like everyone was having fun
the kind of feeling I’ve waited so long

Don’t stop come a little closer
As we jam the rythm gets stronger
There’s nothing wrong with just a little little fun
We were dancing all night long

The time is right to put my arms around you
You’re feeling right
You wrap your arms around too
But suddenly I feel the shining sun
Before I knew it this dream was all gone

Ooh I don’t know what to do
About this dream and you
I wish this dream comes true

The above are lyrics to Daft Punk‘s Digital Love single, which I think perfectly describes the feeling and idea that floats around in soo many science fiction and “thinker novels.” The idea that every is connected unconsciously or not may be up to you to decide for yourself, but it’s true that we are more connected in this day and age, thanks to the internet. But before that humans were and are still connected at a deeper level, our love for music as a species can testify to that.

Daft Punk – Digital Love, clip from Interstella 5555

I’ve Sound means I am in-Sync with the music.

So I was reading an article on BBC News and the article is basically about how 4 out 5 people view the internet as being one of their “fundamental rights,” and because it is one of those rights, it shouldn’t be regulated. The world has certainly grown in the past fifteen years, I recall when Dial-up was still a common occurrence for people in the US (and it is still in a number of areas), but with advent of DSL and now even affordable fiber, it makes sense that the internet has become a vital, normal part of our everyday lives.

But with all the recent regulation attempts, will the freedom of today be lost tomorrow?  The future sure seems bleak, especially when all of these people who are suppose to represent us do the exact opposite, because they think it’s what the people want.And the people that don’t know better support their decisions blindly, not thinking about the future consequences, will doom us all.

Sure the internet is full of filth and is a haven for scum, but still, we as Americans fight for the “free-world”, a “free-economy”, so why not the “free digital world” too? After all, the internet connects people from all around the world, and at least I can feel the Digital Love Around the World.

I’ve Sound, it isn’t just a dream, it’s digital love.

