Full Metal Alchemist Brotherhood is the second of the two series I marathoned this weekend. I had been meaning to catch this series when it first aired, but the first fifteen episodes being “somewhat” covered in the first series made me quickly lose interest. When the series arrived on American shores and then aired on adult swim, I was once again tempted to give it another go but decided against it. The original 2003 series ha a special place in my heart for being one of handful of great series I had experienced in my youth. So the thought of overwriting that memory with the new series didn’t seem the most pleasant to me.

After finishing my White Album marathon, I went to bed and when I awoke I decided to give it another go. The first fifteen episodes cover some events that transpired in the first series, but they add a bit of a touch which make it different enough for viewers who are coming back.

Wow! Where to start? Brotherhood could be one of the greatest series I’ve ever seen. I wouldn’t say it is the greatest but its up there with the great series like Legend of Galactic Heroes, Tytania, One Piece, Baccano!, Durarara!!, and so on…

Not only did they make all the main characters likable, this time around we explored many back-stories and histories that were left untouched in the first series. The romance was turned up a notch (not too much though, it is a shonen series after all) and more towns and countries were explored. Many new characters are introduced and they made it so whether or not you say the 2003 series, you would be okay. I can wholeheartedly recommend this series to anyone. On the list of anime to introduce people into anime this is definitely in the top 10. Compared to the 2003 series, I would also say this series is alot better, though the other series is by no means bad.

I was so entranced by the time the ending credits for the last episode rolled. There’s this feeling I get when I watch truly inspiring shows and I was definitely feeling it for this show, sadly that feeling also comes with an intense sadness that I feel when it ends. Yearning for more and more, but knowing there isn’t anymore.

