Time to talk of many things. But specifically how I feel that one should talk about ideals, and how I feel that they should be discussed in literature.


One of the great things that the Once and Future King did, was talk about ideals, that about might, right and whether man is evil or good, without shoving it down the reader’s throat. In the previous post, I talked about Lunarious, and how he was going to teach Phelan how to be a Valkyrie man/king.

I would like like to convey a message about the proper application of force. Lunarious will have words with Phelan, but I also want to show it. What ideals of force would Lunarious, who is no noble, just a brute who rose to power, say to Phelan, who will inherit the kingdom after his mother?

First strike, brutality, respect for rules, loyalty, ambition, fear and terror. Any number of these things. Entrances. How to conduct yourself around people and how to use them. How to know when a woman is using him or truly loves him. But only do it from side comments. He’ll lecture about battle, but it will be the conversations with other people, that will demonstrate more.

On the other hand, I’ll contrast it with Nathan Kane talking about Erebus Waldren, who is another young man who is a ruler of his group. I think it will liven things up and prevent it becoming boring and one sided. While also providing another look. This villains are not card carrying, after all.

The best way to do it is to balance subtlety of purpose with the desire to tell a good story. Something chock full of philosophy about education, like the Phantom Tollbooth, would not be an interesting read at all, without the skill that went into it. Jules Verne and Hg Wells are in the same boat. All the Sci-fi in the world, but nothing without skill.

Perhaps, I shall be a great myself one day, but for now, I am unestablished.

