*Click image for large version.

Another short post this time, new season previews have been out for awhile, so I thought I’d post a bit about it.

Once again another great anime season is dawning upon us. It’s looking like Summer may be the best season of the year yet (I’ll hold judgment until Fall, which usually wins).  There’s quite a number of great shows and surprisingly no shows I just outright said no to.

 

Going down the list…

YES:

  • Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate – I’m a sucker for these types of stories, the game was also pretty decent as our the female leads.
  • Kono Naka ni Hitori Imouto ga Iru! (“One of Them Is My Younger Sister!”) – The LN was actually pretty good, don’t think this will end with a definite conclusion though.
  • Moyashimon Returns – Microbes aside, I liked the setting and characters from first season.
  • Campione! – Don’t know much about this one, but the idea of him being a “god slayer” type of class intrigues me to no end.
  • Hagure Yuusha no Estetica – This has alot of potential. I really liked fantasy and modern world combinations.
  • Rinne no Lagrange 2 – I like the main girl, first season was also okay.
  • Sword Art Online – Really enjoyed LN, though I’m not sure how they will adapt some of the …sex scenes that are kinda pivotal. Guy who is working on it worked on Fractale and Guilty Crown (which both weren’t as good as can be), his only directorial role was in Occult Academy too, which was also so-so…. Oh! but the music by Yuki Kaijura might be its saving grace.
  • Dog Days 2 – The first one was a blast.
  • Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita ( “Human­ity Has Declined” ) – Don’t know much about it, but the premise is interesting. OH, but the writer is Tanaka Romeo. He wrote two superb visual nov­els, the only one writer man­aging to do so, other top writers have one crown­ing work and oth­ers just fail to get close to that one.
  • Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai (“So You Mean I Can’t Be a Per­vert”) – LN was good.
  • TARI TARI – The spiritual successor to Hanasakura Iroha, so I know it WILL BE good, nice to have an original animation too.
  • Kokoro Connect – Might be my slice-of-life choice for the summer.
  • Arve Rezzle – REALLY awesome premise, prob my second or third most anticipated.

Not really going to say anything much about the OVA choices, mainly picked out of interest. For movies some were given byt most anticipated are:

  • 1. Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki – The next film by the guy who did Summer Wars, need I say more?
  • 2. Ashura – Been hearing bits about this for the past year, hope it lives up to my expectations.
  • 3. Yamato 2199 – The second movie before the TV series remake, can’t wait.

As for MAYBE:

  • Kingdom – premise is okay, but the based on the mobile game aspect is making me wary.
  • Muv-Luv Alternative – I’ve heard alot about this franchise over the years, let’s see what the hype is about…
  • Chouyaku Hyakunin Isshu: Uta Koi – Historical anime adaptations are usually hit or miss, still wary…
  • Natsuyuki Rendezvous – noitaminA means I’ll most likely watch, the premise seems kinda so-so though.
  • Horizon II – The first season was really convoluted and a mess, if they can fix that this has great potential.
  • La storia della Arcana Famiglia – I really like the premise, but it’s based off an otome game so might be too many shonen-ai esque things for me.
  • Joshiraku – Art looks good, but the premise is…so gag.
  • Oda Nobuna no Yabou – Genderswap historical animes never seem to turn out well. Though the char designs remind me of Infinite Stratos, which is always good.
  • Hakuouki Reimeiroku – Liked the two sequels, but this prequel might not feature any girls, same fear as Arcana Famiglia.
  • Binbou-gami ga! – Manga wasn’t that good.
  • Yuri Yuri 2 – haven’t gotten around to first season yet.
  • Blood Lad – Manga was so-so, but it took awhile to get to a good point.

Overall as I stated before, looking like an awesome season. I can see myself doing a few first impressions or afterwords on some of these. Every year I keep hearing that anime is in decline, but then you see seasons like this one and yes there are more “male oriented” shows, but the industry still has great stories to tell.

