?????????????????????????????

Click to Enlarge Image.

Here’s the promised Winter 2013 season preview, Quite a number of excellent series, but as always the Winter season is lacking when compared to the Fall season. Still there’s a little bit for everyone and my top picks for the seasons seem to hit every genre as well.

Yes:

  • Maoyuu Maou Yuusha – One of the top shows of the season, no doubt. The source material is rather legendary and has spawned numerous manga series and the like. You can be I’ll be blogging this.
  • Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru – A harem romcom, the source material has been interesting and has certainly warranted a watch out of me, not sure on blogging prospects though.
  • Senran Kagura – Guilty pleasure, How often do you see a franchise try to sell itself entirely on ‘dancing breasts’? Not very often, that’s for sure! By the same people that brought you Ikkitousen and FREEZING.
  • Love Live! School Idol Project – I’ve been hearing alot about this show for the past few months. I don’t expect much out of it, but it seems to be a gathering place to nuture up-and-coming or low-key voice actresses. All in all, if you like idols or peppy JPop music, this is an easy choice.
  • AMNESIA – I’m generally very skeptical of Otome game adaptations, but I’ve enjoyed more of them than I’d like to admit.
  • Tamako Market – An original series by the people that gave us the brilliant Chuuinbyou, Hyouka, and K-On series, not a bigger YES can be said.
  • Sasami-san@Ganbaranai – By SHAFT, the people that brought us Madoka and Bakemonogatari. The premise is rather interesting as well, and the source material had me wanting more. YES, YES, YES!
  • Vividred Operation – A sci-fi series by the Strike Witches creator, I expect this to be one of the top three series this season. There’s an all-star production team behind this that includes: A-1 Pictures (Sword Art Online), Redjuice (concept artist for Guilty Crown), and heavy involvement from people that worked on Gundam 00/Code Geass/Macross frontier, the ingredients for greatness are here.
  • Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT – The sequel to one of my favorite series in the past few years.
  • Mondai-Ji-tachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru sou Desu yo? – Also known as Problem children are coming from another world, aren’t they? Follows the trend of having weird and long anime names, series with these kinds of names haven’t disappointed me yet.
  • Chihayafuru 2 – Considered a win for the anime industry, the first season was emotionally riveting and one of very few series to build character drama so well.
  • Cardfight!! Vanguard: Link Joker – Third season of this anime, I got into the cardgame during the second season and was surprised to find out how enjoyable the anime was. I don’t expect to blog this though.
  • Nekomonogatari – More of the Monogatari series is always a good thing.

Maybe:

  • Boku no Imouto wa Osaka Oka – 5 Minute shorts that follow a trope not very well-known to those outside of Japan. There’s not much here of interest and the episodes look like they were animated using Adobe Flash, but otherwise I did enjoy the characters. I figure this will be one of those that I may watch only because of how short each episode is.
  • Mangirl! – Another anime based off a 4-koma series, I typically don’t like these but the art style is alright and I’ve heard it compared to Yuri Yuri, which is a series I enjoyed.
  • Cuticle Tantei Inaba – Over the top style interactions similar to Binbougami Ga! I’m not sure if I can handle another of those, but I’ll give it a proper shot.
  • D.C. III ~Da Capo III~ – I’ve kinda enjoyed the Da Capo series, but the problem for me is that they are too vanilla. I’ll check it out due to the fact I have a decent past with the prequels, but I don’t expect to stick with it.
  • AKB0048 Next Stage – I didn’t really watch the first season, but I’ve heard it was a decent gem, despite the premise. AKb48 isn’t really my thing otherwise.
  • Minami-ke Tadaima – The fourth season of a show I’ve really enjoyed. There’s This is low-key humor – it’s not a series that will send you into peals of laughter, but it never ceases to make me smile or chuckle.
  • Hakkenden: Touhou Hakken Ibun – I’m not sure what to say, the source material is rather easy to go through, but hte series has a problem deciding what kind of genre it wants to be.
  • THE UNLIMITED – Hyoubu Kyousuke – A spin-off of Zettai Karen Children, where the villian from that series is now the main character. I think they are playing it out as him being more of an anti-hero that outright villain though.
  • GJ-bu (Good Job Club) – Torn by this series, it’s 4-koma, but the character designs have me interested…
  • Kotoura-San – An extremely popular 4-koma that involves a girl gaining ESP abilities. I’m mostly interested because of how popular it is.
  • Hetalia: The Beautiful World – I like Hetalia, but I don’t think I’ll follow it on a weekly basis. I most likey will wait until it finishes like I have for all past seasons.
  • Doki Doki Precure – Haven’t given the Precure series a proper watch, mainly due to its target audience.
  • Milky Holmes Alternative Two – I liked the past 2 seasons, think of it as a light hearted Sherlock Holmes in a sense.
  • Hiyokoi – The premise is interesting, as well as the art, which is my main draw atm.

NO:

  • Puchimas! Petit Idolmaster – I’m not a fan of mini-series, especially ones originating from the web, but I’ve heard this is funny. At this point, there’s no plans, but others may find interest since it’s a short series.
  • Yama no Susume – Another 5 minute episode series, the animation looks to be much nicer than other offerings but the source material is relatively small and still ongoing. This series seems like a marketing ploy to milk the series more than anything.
  • Ai Mai Mi – Looks low budget and based off a 4-koma, need I say more?
  • Ishida to Asakura – A series of shorts with unintering art.
  • Line Offline Salaryman | LINE OFFLINE – This is an anime based on some random corporation’s mobile app…
  • Bakumatsu Gijinden Roman – A decent casts of seiyuu are involved with this series, however the fact it’s based on a pachinko game and the art style turn me off.
  • Jigoku Youchien – Has potential, but is essentially a crowd-funded project with multiple creators. I’m not very interested in trying that atm, but it’s not a total turn off like most in this part of the list.
  • Senyu. – The guy behind Fractale and also the one that boasted it would “fix what was wrong with the anime industry” is back after going back on his promise to stop making anime if Fractale failed. Nothing more to be said here.
  • gdgd Fairies 2 – I’ve heard the first season was rather alright, but I’m not interested in this kinda of style for a series.

Winter 2013 Anime Season preview is up. Quite a number of good shows this season, though my top 3 would have to be:

  1. Maoyuu Maou Yuusha (Awesome Source Material),
  2. Vividred Operation (Sci-Fi by Strike Witches creator, Redjuice -Guilty Crown character artist, and A-1 Pictures -Sword Art Online animation studio),
  3. Sasami-san@Ganbaranai (SHAFT aka Madoka / Bakemonogatari studio).

Though

  1. Tamako Market (Kyoani aka Hyouka/Chuuinbyou studio),
  2. Chihayafuru Season 2 (aka the miracle of the anime industry),
  3. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT (I don’t have many friends season 2)

make very close to the top as well.

