ashsspring2013list2

Click Image for Full Size

Ash here with another one of these for the upcoming season. I’ve pretty much finished the majority of my stuff from previous seasons (expect afterwords sometime for the series that haven’t gotten one). Xewleer is using the past few days and the upcoming week to finish off his series as well. I’m hoping this will give us the fresh start we need to this next season.

As with most seasons nowadays, this season offers a little bit of everything (who says anime is dying again?) and hopefully you anime fans out there can stumble upon something to your own liking. To date, there hasn’t been a season without a show I could recommend to anyone and it is my hope that is the case for all seasons going forward, unchanged. The industry is constantly evolving to suit the tastes of its supporters and remains my favorite medium for story telling.

  • *RDG: Red Data Girl – An interesting concept for a fantasy series, though I’m not exactly sure how well it will play out plot wise. My main interest in this series is because the character designs come from Kishida Mel, one of my favorite artists.
  • *Karneval – I’ll have to admit, what I’ve seen of the source for this series has not impressed me. There’s tons of hype following this one and it’s mainly the reason I’m even going to bother with it.
  • *Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge – A rather weird plot that involves curses and a hair cutting fetish. There’s tons of hints that this show might get a bit dark and the animation style is totally giving the opposite vibes.
  • *Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatteiru – also known as “My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong as I Expected” is one of my most anticipated series this upcoming season. I loved the novel this series will be based on and am expecting great things from the series, though the animation reminds me of the Special A anime (which ended up very disappointing); so I’m a bit mixed on it all.
  • *DEVIL SURVIVOR 2 THE ANIMATION – A game to anime adaptaton. I haven’t played through the second incarnation of the Devil Survivor games yet, so I have no idea what the plot will be like. I just hope that the adaptation becomes similar to the Persona 4 one and stays faithful to source material. The dark nature of story universe will no doubt be able to pull people in; if for nothing else.
  • *Ginga Kikoutai Majestic Prince – A mecha series directed by the director of Jormungand? It all depends on how well the source material holds up; I’m still not tired of the Gundam Seed era character designs yet!
  • *Hataraku Maou-sama! – also known as “Demon Lord at Work!” is a spin-off of the high school story of similar name (Demon Lord in High School!) The draw here is watching the typical fantasy archetypes adjust to modern life. The source material was enjoyable enough and I’m glad they picked this one over the high-school one, as I feel I can relate to it more.
  • *Photo Kano – I would label this under generic harem romance if not for the comparissons I’ve been hering to Kimikiss and Amagami. I’m hoping they follow a formula similar to Amagami SS and give each girl her own “arc” of episodes, I’ve found that method to satisfy the most people overall.
  • *Date A Live – Probably the biggest show of the season. I’ve not develed too much into the source material, but from what I’ve seen; it wasn’t too special. Nevertheless, I feel that I always need to check out the supposed breadwinners of the season to see what all the hype is about, who knows; it might impress me.
  • *Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Bride – A guilty pleasure of mine. The original series had tons of potential, but I feel the push for fanservice really hurt the story.
  • *Aku no Hana – A really DEEP psychological piece. I’ll say this isn’t for everyone and the twists within will probably have many raging.
  • *Shingeki no Kyojin – the second big show of the season. The source manga for this series has won many awards and the PVs have really ramped up my anticipation for this series. I love the source, though it is a bit gritty and down trodden at times. I suspect this will be the action show for most this season.
  • *Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai. – After over two years, the sequel finally arrives. I’ve been waiting for them to unveil Saori to the gang without her glasses. Hopefully with the source material far ahead, we can make this a 24 episode series. Like Saki/Girls Und Panzer etc, I feel that this show is one of those that just brings a smile on your face when you sit and watch it.
  • *Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199 – I’m already following this, but since the “movie” release happens every season, I don’t feel too inclined to talk much about it.
  • *Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W – Tons and tons of parody. I may come back and relook at the series, but I lost interest during the prior season because the gags really weren’t catching me.
  • *Hayate no Gotoku! Cuties – The fourth season of this show. I love the characters, but the last adaptation has made me wary over this one.
  • *Arata Kangatari – Its been awhile since we’ve had one of Watase Yuu’s epic fantasy adventures. What will determine if this series becomes another Fushigi Yugi or falls flat will be how well the manga source is adapted and how long the series is.
  • *Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S – Second season of Railgun. I’m more of a fan of the main story (Index), but I hear this season is a bit darker. I found the first Railgun to be a bit “light hearted” story-wise when compared to Index, which was probably its main flaw.
  • *Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko – I really like the source material so I have high expectations. Hopefully J.C. Staff can work a miracle with this one like they did with Sakurasou.
  • *Kakumeiki Valvrave – A sunrise mecha show, there isn’t much else to say. They’ve pretty much perfected this formula by now.
  • *Suisei no Gargantia – The final of the BIG THREE of the season and the one with arguably the most hype by the solely anime crowd. Urobuchi Gen, the person that brought us Madoka, Fate/Zero, and Psycho Pass returns to bring us military sci-fi. Knowing Urobochi’s style there is probably going to be some dark twist, but for now the visuals and setting have me enthralled!

The big three shows for this season are: Date A Live, Attack on Titan!, and  Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet. (PVS below)

Date A Live

Attack on Titan!

Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet

