ibn5CtbX8FeEHT

Full Size: Here

Hey Everyone! Back with another one of these. I’m not back to writing, though I have secured a job to help me weather through the process of finding something more permanent. A new year means new things and hopefully 2014 will be even better than 2013 for me. For those curious on what I’m up to, I do regularly update my Facebook pages so be sure to check it out under the about page.

Otherwise, Xewleer has started to focus on his own writing and may make an appearance here or there with some writings. I’ve not felt much of a writing spark and I do regret that some of my writing projects have been on hold for quite a while now. Hopefully, I can get a bit more funds and eventually be able to devote alot more time to it. Anyways here’s a bit of tidbits on the next season and my expectations etc…

 

YES

Neppuu Kairiku Bushi Road – An OVA original which has been touted as the origin of the Bushiroad company name. The story for this was originally penned by Yoshida Sunao, the writer of Trinity Blood, and it was his death in 2003 that stalled the project. There’s been a bunch of promotion about this recently and the trailers do make it look impressive; let’s just hope it can live up to the hype.

SPACE☆DANDY – Probably one of the biggest shows this season due to its importance to the industry. Studio BONES is throwing everything into this to make it work for the international market; even as far as having it premier in the United States before it does in Japan. This series is oozing Cowboy Beebop vibes and the trailer really shows it, BONES is trying to relight the fire that Beebop started over a decade ago.

Noragami – Another spirits and humans show, this actually didn’t catch my attention at
first but the fact that BONES is involved perked my interest, among other things.

Buddy Complex – Sunrise is doing what it does best and is releasing a new mecha series once again. Typical shonen coming-of-age mecha story with the Sunrise touch, I just hope there is a bit more romance in it, as that’s my main complaint with their shows.

Nobunaga the Fool – A mecha, Sci-fi from the mind of the Kawamori Shoji (Aquarion/Macross)? Count me in! The preview looked alright, but anything that shoji touches ends up being very entertaining, even if I wouldn’t consider them the best shows in other categories. Add in Satelight, the studio that did Macross Frontier and the current Log Horizon and you have a recipe for awesome.

Saki Zenkoku-hen – Sequel to the original (though technically this is the 3rd season) Mahjong epic about girls battling it out using Mahjong. I know this doesn’t sound very interesting, but the original proved me wrong by making Mahjong interesting. The sequel was kind of a flop, but now that we’re back with the main cast; things will finally be set right!

Tonari no Seki-kun – The ultimate example of someone who’s bored and has alot of imagination. As someone who once suffered such a syndrome during my school days; I’m interested to see what he comes up with.

SoniAni -SUPER SONICO THE ANIMATION- – A show that I would normally skip over. I’m not very interested in Sonico’s character and the premise of following her everyday life isn’t that interesting to me. However, it is being animated by WHITE FOX (Hataraku Maou-sama!, Jormungand, and Steins;Gate) and written by Kuroda Yosuke (Ano Natsu de Matteru and Honey and Clover), so it should be somewhat bearable if not transcending its source.

Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta – Remind me of the Princess and the Pilot movie, though this one has the prince being a pilot as well. I’m very interested in this due to the aerial combat featuring propeller planes and the romance which has him falling in love with a girl who symbolizes the very revolution that stripped him of his status.

D-Frag! – Another slice-of-life school comedy that features a guy and four girls. One of the things I like about this one is the fact that the guy isn’t an introvert and of course the manga gave me a good impression as well.

Hamatora THE ANIMATION – A stylish, super power detective/mystery series. Not much is known about this series, but I did like the character designs and a series outside of common genres is certainly needed for the variety.

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! 2 – The gang is back in the sequel to Kyoani’s orignal hit. I’m not sure this needed a sequel, but from what I’ve seen it’s lookin to be fun. The main points of course are a new love rival for Yuta and the changes our original cast has gone through (I’ve heard Nibutani’s Chuunibyou syndrome is back for instance).

Gin no Saji Silver Spoon 2 – Sequel to the original, which was actually quite good and again written by Arakawa Hiromu (Full Metal Alchemist).

Strange+ – Another mystery series focussing on a detective agency. This one is more focussed on comedy and from what I’ve seen will be mainly going by an episode-of-the-week format.

GO! GO! 575 – Based on Sega’s Project 575 games which feature vocaloid-like voice singing 5-7-5 syllable songs/poems. The premise isn’t that interesting and the character designs are my main draw, though this has potential to introduce a number of good songs for my playlist.

Mahou Sensou (Magical Warfare) – Light novel adapatation that honestly hasn’t gotten many stellar comments from the community. I’m a big fan of fantasy works and there’s looking to be quite a bit of action in this one, so hopefully it will do well there if the story isn’t too interesting.

Z/X IGNITION – Card game anime in the style that I wish Cardfight!! Vanguard had gone. This one follows the world’s lore and actually seems very interesting.

pupa – Finally a set date for the premier. As I said last time, I’m not a big fan of horror or cannibalism stories, but the source had me hooked. I just hope that the Director  can capture the feeling of the series correctly.

Nourin – Agricultural school anime mixed with school idols, the prospects are infinite. More seriously though, Tamara Yukari as the main girl and the argiculutural setting make this a must watch for me.

Nisekoi – Another of the titan shows of the season, this one is a harem-romance that’s actually pretty well written. The fact that it will be animated by Shaft is also a plus, as the trailers have looked gorgeous.

Wizard Barristers Benmashi Cecil – Wizard Law and Order anyone? On a serious note this actually looks quite good and easily a contender for one of the season’s to-be top shows. My main gripe is the character designs, which aren’t very appealing to me.

Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha. – Manga adaptation of a supernatural, romance comedy. I thought the source was quite enjoyable and hope that the anime can be as fun.

 

NO

Double Circle – I’m not a big fan of shorts and one that seems like it’s only purpose is to market Toshiba products sounds like a big turn-off, but the character designs from
Gatchaman Crowd’s Kinako give me slight interest.

Pupipo! – The source is somewhat interesting, but the art is keeping me away. It is a short though, so I may sneak a couple episodes here and there.

Robot Girls Z – Another short, but tis one reimagines robots from Toei Animation shows as
girls.

Seitokai Yakuindomo* – Sequel to the original. Essentially a high-school slice-of-life comedy that is known for its dirty jokes. I’ve heard the series is actually quite good and has things beyond the dirty humor to keep you watching, though I’ve yet to finish it myself.

Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga. – I’m not a big fan of imouto romances, but because the main girl has a split personality disorder due to a ghost, it makes it kind of interesting.

Nobunagun – A pretty over-the-top series about people being able to weild historical figures in the form of weapons. The main chara. is female, which is rare for these kinds of shonen-esque series, but otherwise the premise seems kinda…so over the top it may be ridiculous.

Witch Craft Works – A fairytale-esque series that reverses the damsel-in-distress’ trope. I wasn’t a big fan of the manga, but perhaps the series can get me interested.

Onee-chan ga Kita – 4 koma about overly attached big sister gained through father’s new marriage. Not much to say and not much is known.

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei – Interesting concept, but the 4-koma source hints this will most likely be mainly comedy, though there is hope they explore the romance and plot a bit more seriously.

Hoozuki no Reitetsu – Supernatural comedy that has a bunch to do with heaven and hell. Granted this is more of an Eastern view of the two places and it is a light novel adaptation, the main draw here is the studio that brought us Shingeki no Kyoji doing it.

Sakura Trick – Comedy and slice-of-life yuri that is essentially another take on the “cute girls doing things” genre. Studio DEEN and Tomatsu Haruka’s roles in this are my main interest.

Wake Up, Girls! – Another idol series that features a whole new group of real world idols. This could be hit or miss, though if the trailers are to be believed; some of the music will be good at least.

Sekai Seifuku ~Bouryaku no Zvezda~ – World domination series that supposedly isn’t comedy. The fact that the organization is run by a loli is somewhat detracting for me, though this may be one of those gems of the season.

Maken-ki! 2 – Sequel to a Battle-Harem series that didn’t turn out to be anything but average. I’m told that much of the former team has been fired and the OVAS (along with this) are an attempt at salvaging the series.

As for my top 5….

SPACE☆DANDY



Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta


Nisekoi


Wizard Barristers Benmashi Cecil


Saki Zenkoku-hen / Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! 2

 

