ash2014springanimelist

Full Size: Here

Another season and another one of these, at this point I’m not sure I’ll ever return to regular blogging. Though that is slowly becoming one of my regrets, I am also coming to terms that my current time schedule wouldn’t allow me to do much with it anyways. As far as life is concerned, I’m moving a bit, but no-where close to where I want to be. But everyday, I’m discovering more things that keep me grounded to this life of mine. One of the few things that I’ve always enjoyed and have never regretted was my interest in anime. As a medium, it has warmed my heard with countless experiences and dragged my imagination to past anything I could’ve ever thought possible. At least for right now, I want to experience more stories and etch them deep in my heart. With that said, here’s what we have for this upcoming season!

Yes:

  • Cardfight!! Vanguard: Legion Mate Hen – I’ve actually been playing the card game for almost 2 years now and though the show is a bit hammy at times; it’s rather enjoyable if you play the game.
  • Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou – The synopsis seems like a cut/paste high school romance story, but this is coming from Brains Base, the studio behind the brilliant Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun and Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabu Kome wa Machigatteiru (My youth romantic comedy is wrong as I expected), which gives me high hopes for this series.
  • Akuma no Riddle – The premise is somewhat interesting and I’m a bit curious on how it will play out. We’ve had a bunch of survival shows recently (Danganronpa and Mirai Nikki, just to name a few) and this may be as successful as they were. My main worry is that the source material doesn’t have much to it, which makes me wonder why it got an animation in the first place.
  • Selector Infected WIXOSS – Essentially this is a card game series with a dark, psychological twist. I’m not sure what to expect from it, but the studio and casts are top notch.
  • FAIRY TAIL – Kind of a guilty pleasure. The manga/anime were never anything too exceptional but they were fun to read/watch none-the-less. From what I’ve heard this arc will be much darker and I love the new OP by BoA.
  • Kindaichi Shounen no Jikenbo Returns – I haven’t seen the original, but I love detective series, so I’m willing to give this a shot (and may watch the original if I feel so inclined).
  • Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (The Irregular at Magic High School) – Probably the most anticipated show of the season and from Madhouse. There’s big names behind this production and judging from the popularity of the source, this will be big. Oh and did I mention LiSa (Sword Art Online OP, Fate/Zero OP) was singing the OP?
  • Kamigami no Asobi – I tend to enjoy many Otome-adaptations that have the female lead as the main character.
  • Captain Earth – BONES’ entry for this season feels like a nod to some of their previous works and if you like that style, you’ll definitely enjoy this. If it’s not amazing, it’ll at least be memorable.
  • Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii (The World if Still Beautiful) – I loved the manga for this series and am actually surprised this got an adaptation. I love fantasy stories set in fictional kingdoms.
  • Baby Steps – A tennis anime! One of my problems with sports anime is the lack of female characters in them unless the entire cast is female (it’s either all male or all female, few mixes). I’m not pushing all sports anime to have romance in them, but I need representation from both sexes in my series. I’ve also heard that the source material for this is very good.
  • Gokukoku no Brynhildr – From what I’ve seen so far this series has tons of potential. It’ll be up to NHK to see if they can bring out that or not.
  • Love Live! Season 2 – I’m big fan of μs, though I hate Honoka.
  • Break Blade – The movies were pretty good, but I always felt that the series would’ve been better as a regular anime. Apparently someone high up thought the same thing.
  • Isshuukan Friends. (One Week Friends) – A high school romance show that is teeming with feels. From what I’ve read and seen thus far this show will be an emotionally heavy experience that uses the amnesia trope effectively and not as a crutch.
  • Black Bullet – The show reminds me of Guilty Crown (for better or worse), but this may be the action show for this season.
  • Soul Eater Not! – We finally get to revisit the fun world of Soul Eater. Technically a prequel of sorts and a totally different type of story. This is a spin-off and is not meant to head the same direction as its predecessor.
  • No Game No Life – Probably my second most anticipated show this season after Mahouka. The only bad thing that could happen is that it ends up as an incestrous tale between man and loli.
  • Hitsugi no Chaika – From the author of Scrapped Princess and Outbreak Company, both of which I enjoyed. I did read a little into the source of this series and from what I saw it looked pretty good and gave me the same feeling as Scrapped Princess.
  • Fuuun Ishin Dai Shougun – While the premise is nothing too extraordinary, it is being composed by Dai Soto, the main who stated he only works on “meaningful” stories. From his current track record (Eureka Seven and Ergo Proxy etc), he’s not been wrong. This series may just be more than it lets on.
  • Escha & Logy no Atelier: Tasogare no Sora no Renkinjutsushi – I’m actually surprised that Altelier Rorona (etc) didn’t receive an adaptation considering how involved Tony Taka was with it. I’m not expecting much out of plot for this series, but Studio Gokumi has suprised me before (Kiniro Mosaic, The Ambition of Oda Nobuna, Saki Side-A, Crime Edge, and Saki 2014).
  • Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin – The NoitaminA show for this season. These shows are always hit or miss but never fail to leave a deep impression on me.
  • Sidonia no Kishi (Knights of Sidonia) – My 3rd most anticipated show of the season and probably the 2nd overall for most people. From what I’ve seen/read, this will be an epic tale of sci-fi survival with mechs! The show has garned so much attension that NetFlix grabbed the streaming rights to it, all but guarentee it to be a success.
  • Date a Live II – Sequel to the original dating-sim, sci-fi. The premise is very meh but I found myself loving the first season and I’m hoping the second only leaves a deeper impression on me.
  • Mekaku City Actors – The manga was a big slow paced, but when I learning this show originated from a Vocaloid Song, it just perked my interests for it a bit more. I like the characters and hope that the story can keep me interested and if any company can do that, SHAFT can.
  • M3: Sono Kuroki Hagane – The Dark Horse of the season that just recently got announced. The premise itself is very interesting, but when you put Satelight (Log Horizn ,Aquarion Evol, Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse, White Album 2 etc) with it, you start to expect great things.

 

Maybe:

  • Blade and Soul – The visuals remind me of Queen’s Blade. I haven’t personally played the game, but I feel as though this animation is just trying to capitalize on the success of Log Horizon and Sword Art Online.
  • Mushishi Zoku Shou – The original was a very interesting and invoking series, but after so many years, I’m not sure if it’s right for me anymore.
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders – I’m not that big a of a JoJo fan, though I think this will be pretty good for those that are.
  • Pretty Rhythm: Rainbow Live – I haven’t actually finished any of the prior series of this, but it’s in my backburner of shows I may get to one day…
  • Kenzen Robo Daimidaler – A mecha show with a questionable twist from the minds that brought you Highschool DxD, what would you expect?
  • Seikoku no Dragonar – I enjoyed the first few chapters of this, but the focuss on the Loli character kind of keeps me away. I think this show may be mediocre at best, but hey I’ve been surprised before.
  • Haikyuu!! – I’ve recently become a big fan of sports anime and I’ve yet to see one based on Volleyball, so hopefully this will be good.
  • Kiniro no Chord: Blue Sky – My main draw for otome-adaptations is how much I like the premise or female mc, I’m not sure on either for this as I adored the previous La Corda series… I’m not sure I’m ready for a new cast in that world.
  • Kanojo ga Flag o Oraretara – A pretty interesting premise, but from what I’ve read thus far the series doesn’t really go anywhere.
  • Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to – Based on a gag manga, It was somewhat an enjoyable light read when I was bored, but I’m not sure if it has enough substance to be a good series.
  • Mahou Shoujo Taisen – Anime with characters based on the 47 prefectures of Japan… I don’t think there’s enough distinction to make each character unique enough for this to work, but it’s interesting enough for me to take a look.
  • Gochuumon wa Usagi Desuka? – Based on a 4-koma with way too many Lolis, White Fox being behind this is where my main interests lie.
  • Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san – A five minute short with a somewhat intriguing premise.

And my 5 most anticipated shows this season (in no particular order) are…

Sidonia no Kishi (Knights of Sidonia)

No Game No Life

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (The Irregular at Magic High School)

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii (The World if Still Beautiful)

FAIRY TAIL

 

