Fall-2014-Anime-Chart-v3-ashpicks

Full Size: Here

Here we are at another Fall Season. As I may have stated much earlier in the year, 2014 in particular seems to be a greater than usual year for anime. This fall fully exemplifies that and with the amount of shows I’m saying YES to, I certainly believe that to be the case. All in all, we are “ending” the year with a bang. Yes, I know that there is the Winter Season coming up after, but depending on your view of things; that could be considered the start of next year.

So here we go, let’s end this with a bang!

YES:

*TERRAFORMARS – Based on a manga about humans terraforming mars with roaches etc… and then things get out of hand. This is one of those series being advertised as a “second” Attack on Titan, though I would say the source is nowhere near the level. The only solace here is the big budget ensures quality animation and that the source is 10 volumes long; so we have a good chance at a sequel if it sells (assuming the show is any good of course)
*Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken (I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying)– Otaku married to someone totally his opposite and their slice-of-life comedy. The premise itself is interesting enough, but the main draw here for me is Tamura Yukari as one of the mains.
*Amagi Brilliant Park – The author of Full Metal Panic!, Gatoh Shouji, returns with another work animated by Kyoto Animation (same animation studio that did the FMP! series). nuff said.
*Gundam Reconguista in G – Gundam was the series that can be said to have started my anime love. I’m not too fond of the character designs, but I can forgive all of that if the story is good.
*Log Horizon 2 – The best anime about people trapped in a game world returns for a second season. My main worry is the change in production studios, but trailers thus far have shown much consistency with the first season.
*Madan no Ou to Vanadis – A light novel adaptation of a series set in a slightly medieval Europe inspired era. Sounds generic, but the source has been interesting thus far and though the series seems to focus on the “Vanadis” (beautiful women gifted with special weapons from dragons), they haven’t really been shown to be too overpowered. The hero has also shown much promise in his attitude and ability to best most of them through tactis and his fearlessness. I do feel it may end up in a harem situation though…
*Fate/stay night Unlimited Blade Works – ufotable (Fate/Zero, God Eater, Tales of Xillia) returns to animate the “remake” of Fate/stay night, this time focussing on the Unlimited Blade Works route which did not receive proper justice in the poor film version. As with most, I’m greatly looking forward to this. UBW is likely my favorite of the Fate/stay routes and the fact that ufotable is animating means the quality will be and stay crisp throughout.
*Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo – Mizuki Nana and Kitamura Eri star in another Sunrise mecha “original”. I don’t have high hopes, but the character designs remind me of Code Geass and some of my favorite VA are in it.
*World Trigger – I’ve heard nothing short of praise for this little series that focuses on a alien threat to humanity. The premise sounds generic enough, but the fans have been relentless about it. Still, the series is rather new, and I’m worried if they rush too much well receive a terrible anime-original ending.
*Nanatsu no Taizai (The Seven Deadly Sins) – A relatively new shonen manga blockbuster that has been making waves since its release. From what I’ve read of the source, the series focuses a bit more on adventure than fighting and thus I would compare it more to Magi or One Piece, rather than Bleach or Naruto. I’ve always been a big fan of fantasy adventures and from the bits of the source I’ve read, it doesn’t seem like it will disappoint.
*Grisaia no Kajitsu – A really highly rated VN that is finally getting its adaption. From what I know of it and scenes I’ve witnessed, this one is a lot more than it lets on.
*Shingeki no Bahamut GENESIS (Rage of Bahamut: Genesis) – Based on the insanely popular mobile game that I didn’t really get into. This is one of those series, whose fantasy, action packed trailer really got me interested. Usually these shows are meant to be “cheap” promotions for their source, but if the trailer is any indication; this one will be one to keep an eye on.
*Akatsuki no Yona – Shoujo manga adaptation of a fantasy adventure series about a Princess who becomes a fugitive of her own kingdom. I believe this is the first anime for author Kusanagi Mizuho (NG Life, Mugen Spiral) and someone who’s always enjoyed her works/style, I’m very looking forward to it. As for the source itself, this was a series I followed when it released but left it hanging due to not wanting to wait monthly on it.
*Trinity Seven – One of my favorite shows airing this season, this focusses on a very “alpha” protagonist that finds out he is one who could be destined to be the demon lord. The premise doesn’t seem too interesting, but if this even remotely follows the source it will be remember as a series that actually does the harem genre the correct way.
*Gundam Build Fighters Try – A new cast of characters build Gundam models and fight! The first season of this actually turned out to be pretty good, something you wouldn’t think would go hand-in-hand with an anime about model kits duking it out. The first series seemed to focus on 2x guys as the main characters, but this time around they threw in a girl into the mix, which should spice things up a bit.
*Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle – Chaika returns for its second season. The first season showed us exactly how a fantasy DND-reminiquse show should run and felt exactly like being inside of a DND game; it’s a good feeling.
*Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu – A horror anime that is actually based on a rather older manga series (from the 1980s). This one is about alien Parasytes that can go inside of a host and take over its brain. The premise itself is rather creepy (though) not too original. From what I’ve read of the source, fans of horror will surely delight in this series if done right.
*SHIROBAKO – P.A. Works returns this season with another very P.A.Works show. I love P.A.Works, but their stuff is generally hits or very far misses. Take for example Nagi no Asakura or True Tears, which I tout as very brilliant animes and then compare to less than stellar shows like Tari Tari and the recent Glasslip and you have two very far sides of the spectrum represented. At least they like to pump out original works though…
*PSYCHO-PASS 2 – Another stellar show that is returning with a different animation studio. Like Log Horizon 2, I’m not noticing much, if any, difference between this and the previous season based on the PVs alone. This time along we focus on Akane as the head inspector and how she goes about fulfilling her duty while finding a way to replace the system. I’m sure Kou will make an appearance, but all in all the cyber-punk-ish show for us all.
*Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (April is Your Lie) – A-1 Pictures is animating this award winning manga that focusses on love and character drama. This could be the top tier romance for the season.

MAYBE:

*Denki-gai no Honya-san – A slice-of-life comedy about a bunch of book store workers. I don’t exactly have high hopes for this show, but I do think it will at least be fun based on the concept alone, which I’ll admit is a bit charming.
*Selector Spread WIXOSS – Second season of the card game anime that turned most viewers on their heads when SHIT HIT THE FAN in the second half. I’m not too invested in it, but I did enjoy the twist of the first season.
*Garo: Honoo no Kokuin – The next step in the Garo franchise that involves the weaving of horror, drama, and demonic folklore all in a slightly medieval European setting. Sounds interested enough, but the trailer shows a bit too much CG, which leaves me cautious.
*Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete (À la recherche du futur perdu / In Search of Lost Time) – A visual novel adaptation that I’m told focusses more on a linear routine (similar to CLANNNAD ~AFTER STORY~/LITTLE Busters! Refrain) that also oozes a feeling similar to ef – a tale of memories -. I don’t exactly have high hopes and the character designs really aren’t to my taste (especially compared to the VN’s original designs), but it does sound to be much more than a typical romance VN.
*Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji (Wolf Girl & Black Prince) – Typical high school romance anime that begins with a girl faking that a good looking asshole is her boyfriend to impress her friends. Not the greatest of premises and the manga didn’t necessarily wow me, but I’m willing to give it a chance.
*Sora no Method – Original anime by the creator of Kanon and sola. As a big fan of both, I’m curious and willing to give it a chance.
*Ai Tenchi Muyou! – A new Tenchi Muyo! series that actually follows a Tenchi (or so I’m led to believe). I do like the Durarara!!-esque character designs, though the story is what worries me. Tenchi series have not had a good track record in recent years…
*Inou Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de – A bunch of club members gain special powers only to… do absolutely nothing with it. An interesting premise that seems to put super-powers in the mold of everyday life. I
*Hi sCoool! Seha Girl – Sega consoles reimagined as goddesses. Sega nostalgia is all I can say…
*Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai (A Good Librarian Like a Good Shepherd) – A harem school life vn adaptation that I am interested in, but the generic character designs kind-of turned me off of the series at the moment.
*Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu. – A light novel adaptation that embraces the otakuism of today’s fans and… makes it very surreal. I’m not too sure what to expect.
*Sanzoku no Musume Ronja – After a big announcement on the fate of its studio going forward, Ghibli dabbles in its first anime series. Make no mistake, they are only directing, everything else is left to others, which is a bit worrying.
*Bonjour: Koiaji Patisserie – Reverse harem series that may end up like most of them, generic.
*Girlfriend (Kari) – Mobile dating sim adaptation that is getting a Weiss Schwarz set… I want to know why.
*Donten ni Warau – Historical action series that reminds me a bit too uncomfortably about Nobunaga the Fool…
*Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru – Looks to be a magical girl series with character designs by BUNBUN (which I swear is abec from Sword Art Online).

And my 5 most anticipated shows this season (in no particular order) are…

log2Log Horizon 2

trinity7

Trinity Seven

pp2

Psycho-Pass 2

fsn-ru

Fate/stay night Unlimited Blade Works

robg

Rage of Bahamut GENESIS

Rage of Bahamut is the big wild card here as it was my the hardest of my most anticipated to pick. Here’s hoping it’s better than I expected, until next time.

Ash out.

